This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics   Tags: math, subject_guide  

A guide for the study of Mathematics and Mathematics Education.
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2012 URL: http://libguides.yhc.edu/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Table of Contents

Databases - Databases are collections of materials from other sources. They include professional journals, transcripts, newspapers, and other publications. 

Books - There are links here to the Library catalog, which will lead you to material in the building. There are also links to WorldCat, which indexes material all over the world, and PINES, the catalog for most Georgia public libraries.

Journal Locator - have an assignment to read an article from a specific source? Look here to find which database provides access. You can also learn what journals and magazines are available in print in the YHC Library.

Web Pages - These are freely available pages that have been recommended by faculty or librarians.

Citation - These are links to the specific style manuals suggested for this discipline.

General Databases

A database is a collection of information on a specific subject. A general database has a broad range of topics, a specialized database is aimed at a certain subject or profession. Good general databases are:

·         GALILEO Main page

 

General Overivew

So you've got a research project. Here are some steps that can make the process a little easier.

  • Be sure you understand your topic. This may mean looking up words in the dictionary, or concepts or events in an encyclopedia. You may need to do some research before you can begin your research.
  • Think about the depth and timeliness of the information you need. As a general rule - books are deep information about large concepts or events in the past. Journal articles deal in depth with a very specific aspect of a subject. Newspapers, general interest magazines and newspapers deal superficially with current events. All have their place, but you need to understand so you know where to begin.
  • Academic databases do not work like a search engine. They are based on a controlled vocabulary. They are not intuitive enough to do the Google "did you mean.....?" If you don't get the results you'd like, think of synonyms for your terms

It's never wrong to ask for help. We can save you a lot of time and frustration by getting you on the right track to finding the resources you need!

Ready to go? Use the tabs at the top to find information about the different types of resources available to you at YHC!

YHC Library Staff

Profile Image
YHC Library Staff
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Text START to 706-383-0005. We're here to be sure you have all the academic resources you need. We're here to help!
Send Email

Debra March

Profile Image
Debra March
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
706-379-5196
Send Email
Ask a Librarian:
Text 706-383-0005
 
Duckworth Library ** Young Harris College ** 1 College Street ** Young Harris, GA 30582**706-379-4313
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip