All Databases
This is a list of the most widely used databases accessible through Young Harris College. Remember to use YHC Connect or the GALILEO password if you are off campus.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
A comprehensive business database - Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) A multi-disciplinary database

- Accounting and Tax (ProQuest)
Covers current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
- African American Music - Alexander Street
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression. This release includes 2,535 essays and images from 63 sources. - AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.
- ArchivesUSA
Brings together ArchivesUSA and the cumulative index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the UK and Ireland (NIDS UK/Ireland). Researchers are able to read descriptions of a repository's holdings to determine whether a collection contains material useful to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly.
- Asian Business and Reference (ProQuest)
Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more.
- Atlanta Journal Constitution
Access to the current edition of the Atlanta Journal Constitution online.
- Atlanta Journal Consitution (Proquest)
The Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC) through the ProQuest National Newspaper collection provides online access to the AJC from 1990 to the present
- Banking Information Source (ProQuest)
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.- BioDigest
Life-science information written in a non-technical style- Biology: The eSkeleton's Project
The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information. Browser plugins may be required for optimal viewing- BioOne
BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.- CAMIO
Provides online access to high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.- Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 2000 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers.- Career and Technical Education
ProQuest® Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text.
- Census Data: US Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.- ChemEd Digital Library
ChemEd Digital Library, also called the JCE Digital Library, includes internet resources in the area of chemistry education at the high school and college levels. This is a collection of the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), which is supported by the National Science Foundation.- Classical Music Reference
Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form. This release includes 26,619 essays and images from 23 sources.- Christian Science Monitor
Full text of the newspaper,
- Classical Scores - Alexander Street
Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. This release includes 3,587 scores.- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media.- Computer Science Index
Offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection covers more than 670 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s.
- Computer Source
Comptuer Source contains nearly 300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
- Computing (ProQuest)
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.
- Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
- CQ Historic Documents
Contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions- Digital Library of Georgia
A gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources- Early American Newspapers Series 1
**NEW** Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876):overview: Series I is now complete with more than 700 newspapers (excluding variant titles) represented. All of the titles can be viewed on the web site http://www.readex.com/readex/titlelists/ahn1.cfm.- ebooks at EBSCO (formerly netLibrary)
ebooks lets you access your affiliated library's eContent collection, which can include eBooks, eJournals, and eAudiobooks.- EBSCO Images
The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
- Education Journals (ProQuest)
ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- Enciclopedia Moderna
A Spanish-language encyclopedia and dictionary.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
- Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- ERIC (at www.eric.ed.gov)
Provides access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. The ERIC website is available to the public for searching more than one million citations going back to 1966.- ERIC (at EBSCOHost)
ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. Journal articles are assigned ERIC numbers that begin with EJ (e.g., EJ777687). Non-journal documents are assigned ERIC numbers that begin wtih ED (e.g., ED493647).
- Escolar Online
An online Spanish learning platform for children
- European Business (ProQuest)
ProQuest European Business provides in-depth coverage of one of the world's most important areas of economic activity.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources.- Greenfile from Ebsco
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
- History Reference Center
The "look" of this resource changed on 4/19/12.
History Reference Center is a full-text history reference database that features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
- Hoover's Company Capsules and Profiles
Hoover's Company Capsules and Profiles includes information on more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives.
- Informe!
¡Informe! is a database of 46 full-text, Spanish-language and bilingual magazines. It includes popular publications such as Actual, Latina, and ¡Siempre! as well as the full text of El Nuevo Herald, a Spanish-language newspaper from Miami, Florida, as well as the Spanish editions for Newsweek, Time, People, and PC Magazine.
- JSTOR
The Library subscribes to the entire JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection - sets I to X. Remember JSTOR is not a current content database. It contains back issues of journals that are at least 2 years old, and often go back to the earliest days of the journal.- JSTOR Plant Science
An online environment that collects global plants content, tools, and people interested in biological and plant science. It has foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials such as letters, maps, paintings, and drawings.
- Legal Collection
Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full text of newspapers, legal news, company financial information, transcripts, government publications, and other sources.
- Literary Reference Center
A full-text database combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals. Includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems & short stories; over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews
- Literature Online Reference Edition
A collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), essays from New Essays on the American Novel, and full-text articles from over 150 literature journals.
- Math: The Math Forum: Teacher's Place
A collection of resources for teaching mathematics from preschool through graduate school. The Teacher's Place also includes the Math Forum Community and the Teacher Exchange to discuss and share materials as well as the Ask Dr. Math question and answer service and The Math Library.- MEDLINE at EBSCOHost
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
- MEDLINEplus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together consumer-focused information from The Natl Library of Medicine, the Natl Institutes of Health and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus includes extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia.
- The Merck Manual
A standard medical reference source for over 100 years- providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.
- MLA International Bibliography
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, & dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language & linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing & publishing
- National Science Digital Library
was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science,technology, engineering, and mathematics education.- National Science Digital Library Resources for Teachers
A guide to NSDL resources and information organized especially to fit the interests of teachers, media specialists, and others working with K-12 students. The site includes subject guides or pathways and other resources selected particularly for K-12 audiences.- Native American Documents
Contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 44,890 CDs with more than 643,400 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month.
We have a limited number of user licenses. Please be sure to use the red LOGOFF button when finished.- ebooks at EBSCO (formerly netLibrary)
ebooks lets you access your affiliated library's eContent collection, which can include eBooks, eJournals, and eAudiobooks.- New York Times newspaper
- New York Times Historic Newspaper
Use the drop down to select New York Times Historic newspaper.- NoveList
An online readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. NoveList provides enhanced subject access to over 125,000 fiction titles and more than 90,000 full-text book reviews or annotations.
- Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art Online)
A collection of art encyclopedias and image collections. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. Content includes more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with tools for navigating the content.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.- Periodic Table Live
Allows students to explore information about the elements, their reactions, their properties, their structures, and their histories. This resource is part of the ChemEd Digital Library, a collection of the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), which is supported by the National Science Foundation- PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycArticles includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
Databases included: Religion and Philosophy Collection, Fuente Académica, Vocational and Career Collection, Advanced Placement Source, Academic Search Complete.
- Research Library from Proquest
Includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.- Sociological Collection
includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select
A multidisciplinary database providing full-text articles.- YHC Library Catalog
Listing of material availabe in or via the YHC Library. Materials are books, DVD, music, serials and electronic resources.- WorldCat
The world's most comprehensive bibliography containing millions of bibliographic records cataloged by OCLC member libraries.Comments (0) - ArchivesUSA
YHC Library Staff |
|
Contact Info We're here to be sure you have all the academic resources you need. We're here to help! Send Email |
Debra March |
|
Links: Profile & Guides |
Description
Loading...







